Search Our Website:

Enter keywords, and GO!
Bookmark and Share

*Spike's Web Page

Dachshund / Chihuahua / Mixed (short coat)  : :  Male (neutered)  : :  Adult  : :  Small

More Pics...

I would love you more than you can imagine.
Please adopt me!

Bookmark and Share

Print an adoption flyer for *Spike!


About *Spike

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Adoption Fee: $175.00
  • Species: Dog
  • General Color: Black with Tan, Yellow or Fawn
  • Current Size: 22 Pounds
  • Current Age: 5 Years 10 Months (born on 7/27/2017)
  • Microchipped: Yes
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Has Basic Training
  • Exercise Needs: Moderate
  • Grooming Needs: Low
  • Owner Experience Needed: Species
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious

My name is Spike and I am a quirky fellow. I am afraid of anything new and have been known to snap at people when  startled, however I have been living with my foster mom and have not had any incidents of this.  Most of the time I am a couch potato and love my people very much, but sometimes quick movements or being pushed around frighten me.

My foster mom tells me that if I did not have that issue I would be the perfect dog. Obedient and smart. I should not sleep in bed with you at night because sometimes movements startle me. I am crate trained, walk well on the leash, and have such a wonderful side to my personality. I do want to chase critters in the yard. I was so sure I could catch that squirrel yesterday but my foster mom would not let me. I am not good with cats. I seem ok with other dogs, but am not interested in being their buddy. I would love a fenced yard were I can get out there and hunt on my own, but not necessary if you can get me outside to go potty and take me for a walk sometime during the day.

I am a sensitive boy that will take awhile for me to adjust to a new home. I will need a quiet home, not a lot of people coming and going. I also am a dog that likes routine. Makes me feel safe. Only experienced dog owners should even apply, as I need to go to a home that will understand my quirks and work with me on them. No children please.

I am 5 years old and weigh about 22 lbs. The vet says I am overweight and should weigh around 15lbs. 

So that is it for me. If you fit the bill and would like to meet me, please fill out an online application.

If interested, you can easily fill out an adoption application by clicking here:  adoption application

For anyone viewing this on Petfinder, if you are interested in adopting this animal you will need to go to our website to fill out the online adoption application. You can usually find more pictures of the animals there too. Click on our name "Roses Rescue" in blue above to be taken directly to our website.


More about *Spike

Not Good with Cats, Is Not Good with Kids, Somewhat vocal, Does Good in the Car, Leashtrained, Cratetrained, Likes to play with toys, Likes to be in your lap, Obedient, Timid, Eager To Please, Intelligent


Videos of *Spike:

Other Pictures of *Spike (click to see larger version):

*Spike *Spike *Spike *Spike
*Spike *Spike *Spike

Currently we do not know if *Spike will be able to attend the event, Centerra on Saturday, June 10th, 2023.
Currently we do not know if *Spike will be able to attend the event, Tree City Feed on Saturday, June 17th, 2023.
See *Spike's attendance information for future events.
See a list of all events.